CA Qualification now Equivalent to a Postgraduate Degrees in India - UGC

26 March 2021

The University Grants Commission recently announced that the CA, CS and ICWA qualifications will become equivalent to a postgraduate degree in India facilitating applied research for such professionals. 

UGC’s recognition of these three professional courses as a postgraduate degree will boost overseas career prospects of students qualifying the Chartered Accountancy, Company Secretary and ICWA exam. Further the recognition will allow aspirants to appear for the National Eligibility Test (NET) and the State Eligibility Test (SET) and also  make them  eligible to work as assistant professors or Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) in universities across India. 

The official recognition by UGC will also allow students with CA, CS and ICWA qualifications to pursue PhD degrees in universities nationally and globally. 

The move is in sync with the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020 integrating professional education with general education focussing on flexibility.  

A postgraduate degree status by UGC for professionals with a CA qualification means they would be recognised by agencies of different countries for education, immigration and job purposes.

If you want to learn more about higher education and job prospects abroad for CA, CS and ICWA students, arrange a free consultation with SI-UK India. Our abroad education specialists can help you find the right course to study in the UK and inform you about the job prospects and immigration policies.

UK University Events Back to news

I had a very great experience right from the start to finish; All the staff were really great and very helpful. I recommend SI-UK for all students who are planning to study in the UK.

Anuradha Venkatesh Msc Energy Management, University of Stirling

  • university-college-london
  • manchester
  • University of Birmingham
  • sheffield
  • southampton
  • manchester
  • exeter
  • cardiff
  • warwick
  • loughborough
  • edinburgh
  • bristol
  • lancaster
  • durham
  • bath
  • york
  • st-andrews
  • sussex
  • nottingham
  • aberdeen