University of Nottingham
University of Nottingham


University of Nottingham  Ranking



University of Nottingham  Location

Central England

University of Nottingham


University Ranking




Central England


Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan
Scholarship Name Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan
Nationality Any
Scholarship Deadline 22 February 2018

Commonwealth Scholarships for Masters and PhD study for developing Commonwealth country citizens

The University of Nottingham has excellent links with the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and is a popular destination for Commonwealth scholarship holders.

Closing date 23:59 (GMT) on 22 February 2018


What are Commonwealth Scholarships?

  • The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom offers postgraduate scholarship opportunities for students from commonwealth countries around the world to study in the UK at Masters and PhD level. 
  • The scholarships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), with the aim of contributing to the UK’s international development aims and wider overseas interests, supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.
  • Further information can be found on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission's website.

Who can apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship?

To apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship, you must:

  • Be a Commonwealth Citizen, refugee, or British protected person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth Country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2018
  • By October 2018, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Masters degree)
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

What subject can I study?

These scholarships are offered under six themes:

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  3. Promoting global prosperity
  4. Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  6. Access, inclusion and opportunity

Full details of eligibility criteria and details of how to apply for this scholarship are available on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission's website.



add to favourites
Interested in this School?

  • Study at University of Glasgow
  • Study at University of Kent
  • Study at University of Oxford
  • Study at University of East Anglia
  • Study at London School of Economics
  • Study at Kings College London
  • Study at University of Liverpool